Black Forest cupcakes… Well, sort of.

Baking day!

I have long sought to find the ‘perfect’ chocolate cupcake recipe. Something moist yet light, fluffy and chocolatey, yet able to hold whatever icing I want to pile on top of it. I’m happy to say, my long search is over, so miss Allie at baking a moment, I tip my hat to your perfect creation. Not only has this one “made the book” but the recipe was so delicious that my partner, who hates eating batter, was devouring them both raw and straight out of the oven! So please try this one out if you feel like a truly delicious cupcake. perfect chocolate cupcakes – Baking a Moment. The only variation I used, was a direct substitution of full fat sour cream for the yogurt, and reduction of sugar by 1/4 cup (I often find American recipes a teeny bit too sweet so I always reduce sugar)

20131110-214302.jpg

Black Forest is my favourite flavour cake, but it’s hard to get perfect. The cherries need to be sour, the cake light and the chantilly not too sweet. And as much a fan I am of a boozy Black Forest, this wasn’t the time or place for it. For cupcake topping, I needed to substitute melty cream for something that would stand up to a warmer room, it had to be buttercream, but American buttercream is too sweet and grainy, and my last attempt at Italian buttercream was… Well… Soup. And although I feared I would give my friends a cardiac episode, I went for vanilla Swiss meringue buttercream.

20131110-220800.jpg
I started the night before, I wasn’t sure if I should make a cherry curd or jam, in the end I decided to make a loose gel from the juice of a jar of sour cherries.

20131110-222132.jpg
I tore up a handful of the cherries from the jar and reduced it all down to a cup in volume, added 1.5 gold standard gelatine leaves then let it set overnight in the fridge.

20131110-221026.jpg
Suisse meringue buttercream is made by cooking 1 1/4 cups of sugar and 4 egg whites over a Bain Marie whisking gently until it reaches 71 degrees Celsius (160F). Remove from the heat and beat on high until cold, then add 2 cups of butter to it, one teeny cube at a time, and then beat beat beat, the more you beat it the nicer it is. Vanilla it up and colour to your liking. This makes enough for 18 very generous piles of icing.

20131110-215455.jpg

Then the fun bit! I baked up a batch of the perfect chocolate cupcakes from Baking a Moment, (ate way too many straight from the oven). Cooled and shallow cored them, filled them with cherry gel and dressed with silky buttercream and a shiny cherry on top.

20131110-221817.jpg
And the verdict? We’ll at the rate they were inhaled, I’d say a screaming success.

20131110-222353.jpg

2 thoughts on “Black Forest cupcakes… Well, sort of.

  1. They look absolutely gorgeous! Your piping is so pretty and the cherries on top are adorable! This is one of my all-time favorite flavor combinations, I’m so happy to see that you’ve modified my basic recipe in this way. And SO happy that you like the cake recipe as much as I do! Thank you so much for the ringing endorsement! 😉

    • I have to say that this really is a spectacular recipe, I actually stopped dead in the middle of the kitchen when I first tasted the batter an announced to my cat that it was absolutley delicious! Lol. Sometimes the simplest things far outshine the complex.

Leave a Reply

